Lauriston Law Firm News & Events

  • Supreme Court upholds healthcare law as tax measure

    On June 28, 2012, the Supreme Court upheld virtually all of President Barack Obama’s healthcare law as constitutional. The historic healthcare overhaul requires that every American must have health insurance by 2014 or suffer a tax penalty.

  • The President on Immigration Reform

    On June 15, 2012, the President announced that his legislation will be making revisions to the nation’s immigration policy. The latest immigration changes involve a modification of the original DREAM Act legislation, and are targeted towards young individuals who do not pose a threat to national security or public safety.

  • Deferred Action Process for Young People Who Are Low Enforcement Priorities 


    Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano on 6/15/12 that effective immediately, certain young people who were brought to the United States as young children, do not present a risk to national security or public safety, and meet several key criteria will be considered for relief from removal from the country or from entering into removal proceedings. Those who demonstrate that they meet the criteria will be eligible to receive deferred action for a period of two years, subject to renewal, and will be eligible to apply for work authorization.

    Under this directive, individuals who demonstrate that they meet the following criteria will be eligible for an exercise of discretion, specifically deferred action, on a case by case basis:

    1. Came to the United States under the age of sixteen;
    2. Have continuously resided in the United States for a least five years preceding the date of this memorandum and are present in the United States on the date of this memorandum;
    3. Are currently in school, have graduated from high school, have obtained a general education development certificate, or are honorably discharged veterans of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States;
    4. Have not been convicted of a felony offense, a significant misdemeanor offense, multiple misdemeanor offenses, or otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety;
    5. Are not above the age of thirty.

    Only those individuals who can prove through verifiable documentation that they meet these criteria will be eligible for deferred action. Individuals will not be eligible if they are not currently in the United States and cannot prove that they have been physically present in the United States for a period of not less than 5 years immediately preceding today’s date. Deferred action requests are decided on a case-by-case basis.

    While this guidance takes effect immediately, USCIS and ICE expect to begin implementation of the application processes within sixty days.

    If you believe that you meet the above criteria and would like to file an application, please make an appointment to meet with us today.


  • USCIS Announces 58 Countries Whose Nationals are Eligible for H-2A and H-2B Participation

    U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) today announced that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), in consultation with the Department of State, has identified 58 countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B programs for the coming year. The H-2A and H-2B programs allow U.S. employers to bring foreign nationals to the United States to fill temporary agricultural jobs and temporary nonagricultural jobs.

    Effective Jan. 18, 2012, nationals from the following countries are eligible to participate in the H-2B program: Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, The Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Samoa, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and Vanuatu.